Skip to content

Another Comment from a Warlick post

July 14, 2006

I can’t seem to post a comment on Warlick’s site.  Anyone out there that can help will be appreciate!  Anyway, I thought this quote was quite interesting:

“And the library is challenged to reinvent itself into a learning experience that is more relevant to today’s information landscape.”

Amazing how truthful this seems to be.  As I said in an earlier post, I’m having to reinvent myself in order to justify my existence, even to get a budget.  The library of the past is gone, but just as our teachers can’t teach in the same way that they did 10 years ago neither can the library stay the same.  I’ve read and heard about the different roles that were outlined in Information Power and while those are a start, we need to really beef up on providing a coaching role for kids and technology.  Even coaching our teachers.  In David Warlick’s book Redifining Literacy for the 21st Century, he tells a story at the beginning about the changing face of literacy and education.  The librarian in this story is a coach/teacher with the technology as well as a repository of information and such.  It is quite a change from what I grew up with as a student.  As a librarian, I feel that I have to reach outside my box.  Just as the classroom is expanding beyond the walls of the building, I have to expand outside of my library.  I have one teacher that asks me what I’m going to do when all the books in my library are replaced by computers.  I keep telling him that my job changes.  It shifts beyond the walls.  So far, I think I’m doing a good job of redefining what a librarian does just within my building.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

